Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 29, 2008

Going to “The Shack”

I have recently read the most intriguing book.  It’s called “The Shack” and was written by William P. Young.

If you haven’t read it yet, then you need to.

I’m really trying to gather all my thoughts about this book into some semblance of order.  But my thoughts are all over the place.  So forgive me for not writing the greatest post in my blog right now.

I had heard so much about this book from friends, so I decided that I just had to read it.  And it took precedence over Nicholas Sparks’ novel “Nights in Rodanthe” so that should tell you something right there.  But I wasn’t in store for what the book would do to me.

The story concerns one man’s road to recovery from a traumatic loss.  And I don’t want to get into too many details because that would spoil the story for all that haven’t read it yet.  Suffice it to say, this man goes on a journey like no other.  And when he returns from this journey to “the shack” his life is forever changed.

But as I read the book, the thought began to dawn on me: we all have “shacks” in our lives, places where we come to a critical turning point, and we must decide: which way to go?

Having said that… I recently experienced a “shack” of my own.  And I am now in the process of trying to decide which way to go… and what to do.

It’s going to be a long process, getting beyond the pain of this shack.  But my hope is that God will meet me there, and will deal with me in His Love and mercy, and will help me find my way to total health and healing.

 

Time will tell….

 

I’ll get back to you on how it’s progressing…

Leave a Reply

Categories

