Posted by: Michelle Knoll | April 21, 2009

Lunch with an Author

Sometimes God bends our path, and allows us to experience a quiet little hideaway.   I always enjoy those moments, when I get to see something that I wouldn’t otherwise see.  Kind of like the old “byways” along this nation’s superhighways of years past, places where you could stop and feast your eyes on a view of exquisite beauty.  Remember those?  I like those types of things.

And sometimes, God bends the path of our experiences, and allows us to become acquainted with someone that we wouldn’t have otherwise met.

Such was the case, this past January, when an old friend of mine introduced me to an old friend of his.  He told me, “I think you two should meet.”  Knowing him to be a wise old soul, I took him at his word, and wandered over to read his friend’s blog.  And then, I accepted her friend request on Facebook, so we could get to know each other.

Reading the thoughts on her blog has been like stopping by one of those quiet byways, and feasting my eyes on a scene of rare beauty.  I am constantly encouraged by what she shares through her blog, and also challenged by her pure faith in God, and comforted by her openness and honesty and… “realness.”

She is a treasure.

Well, God always adds blessing to those bends in our path, and last week I had the awesome opportunity to actually meet this fine person and have lunch with her.  Our conversation was a smorgasbord of delightful tidbits, first about who we are and then about what we do, but also about life and the mysterious ways of God.  I was so excited to finally meet her, I’m pretty sure I talked her ear off!  But the time we spent together was heart-warming and fun, with the promise that we would get together again.

Her name?  You want to know her name?  Oh, well, yes, I suppose I should share that important piece of information, shouldn’t I?

Faye Bryant.  Someone I think the whole world should get to know.

But I don’t know of a restaurant anywhere that would have a table that size, so…

Stop along this byway on the information superhighway:

http://fayebryant.typepad.com/living_real/

I think you will find the time you spend there quite rewarding.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Categories

