Posted by: Michelle Knoll | May 6, 2009

Thoughts on a Book…

Well, here I am again, apologizing for not posting anything in so long.

Sorry…

Okay, now that the apologizing is finished, I want to introduce you to a book that is a very good read.

“The Mantle of Esther: Discovering the Power of Intercession” by Larry Christenson

The book is 145 pages long, and I’ve only started it.  So this isn’t a full review, and I will be back with more thoughts and details, I can assure you.

This is a look at the life of Esther, and how that life is an example of the role of an intercessor in the body of Christ.  I have to tell you, from the beginning the book gripped my soul.

On page 15, near the beginning of the first chapter, the author states, “Intercessory prayer draws us into the presence and life of the holy Trinity where God welcomes and responds to our petitions with divine authority.”

Then, on page 21, the author brings out a point that he says is often skipped over: the sovereignty of God.   I love how he depicts this, as he says, “Esther comes into the king’s presence with humility and awe, knowing that a great matter is at stake, and only the king’s sovereign power can deal with it.”

I was immediately convicted, for I have prayed for many people, and yet I know I have not always kept God’s sovereignty in mind as I have approached Him.

And then Mr. Christenson brings up the story of Job, and the conversation between Job and God toward the end of the book.  God is talking about the hippopotamus, and how magnificent it is.  Then God says, “Whom I made… as I made you.”  God is explaining that He loves Job as much as He loves the hippo, and even more so. 

God is sovereign, but He also loves us, and the author makes a comment that I know I need to contemplate for a long time: “His sovereignty is perfectly wedded to His love.”  It is the belief that God loves us that gives us faith to draw near to Him when there is a need.

And then, if all of that is not enough, this comment is made:

“Esther teaches more than an abstract doctrine of God’s sovereignty; she teaches us an attitude of humility and reverence that can spell the difference between intercession that fails and intercession that triumphs.”

Intercession that triumphs.  I think we can all say that in this day and time, we all know of situations that call us to come before the God of the universe with serious intercession… that will triumph! 

Hmmm.  This is enough to contemplate for one day.  I’ll be back with more from this book later.  In the mean time, check it out at your local bookstore.

Leave a Reply

Categories

