Posted by: Michelle Knoll | August 29, 2009

Point of View

This has got to be the most frustrating part of writing for me.

Point of View — the persepctive with which a story is being told.

I want to get into ALL the characters’ heads, and tell the story from everyone’s perspective.  I know you can do it that way, but they say it’s not the best way to do it.

It’s called the “omniscient” point of view, and I’ve read that if you use this point of view correctly, it can greatly help your story.  However, if you use it incorrectly, it can be a lot of trouble, even to the point of messing up the continuity of the story.

So what should I do?

I could tell the story from one person’s perspective only, but that would take a lot out of the story.  There are certain scenes that help to build the story, but the main character is not involved.  So what then?

For me, a newbie writer, this is a difficult situation.

Thoughts, anyone?  I would love to hear from some other writers, what they think is the best way to handle my situation.

Leave a Reply

Categories

