Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 7, 2009

Planning, Planning, Planning….

It’s the “planning” month of NaNoWriMo.

Okay, for those of you who don’t know what “NaNoWriMo” is, it’s “National Novel Writing Month.”  That’s the time of year — November — when a group of people go completely zany, and attempt to write 50,000 words in 30 days.  Or… 100,000 words in 30 days.  Or… a million words in 30 days.

Yep.  Someone actually did write one million words in 30 days.  Amazing, isn’t it?  Just goes to show what you can do, when you put your mind to it.

But in order to accomplish something that monstrous, one must do a lot of planning.

I have planned in the past for my NaNo novel, but not nearly as much as I am planning this year.  I already have an outline in place, and now I’m “fleshing out” the details for each point.  By the time NaNoWriMo begins on November 1, I’ll be more than ready.

Some people say that planning takes all the spontaneity, and the fun, out of the writing process.  I’m not so sure that it true.  I know that the last two years, with minimal planning on my part, have been extremely fun.  I’ve watched my characters come alive and take on depth and personality that I wasn’t “planning” on them having.  I got surprised in a lot of ways.  I know the story took twists and turns that I didn’t expect.  Some of those twists and turns made the story much better.  Some, however, left me frustrated. 

So this year because of my planning, there won’t be as much room for the story to bloom on its own, and cut new paths through the wilderness of creativity.

But then again, this year I just might finish the novel!

Leave a Reply

Categories

