Posted by: Michelle Knoll | April 25, 2010

“Christ the Lord” Series — Book Review

Greetings!

I have now finished both books in the Christ the Lord Series, Out of Egypt and The Road to Cana.  They are SO good, I’m thinking about reading them both again!

Anne Rice is a fantastic writer.  She’s been popular for years, for her vampire books.  But these two books… I don’t know that my words can adequately describe what Ms. Rice has accomplished.

In the first book, Jesus is a young boy, first living in Egypt with Mary and Joseph and many other family members.  The decision is made to return to Israel, but it’s during a time of great political upheaval.  So the reader has the grand opportunity to see how it might have been for Jesus to experience all of this, trying to understand it through the limited abilities of a child’s mind.

The other thing that was so wonderful about the first book, was how Ms. Rice portrayed Mary and especially Joseph.  His personality is easily seen.  I finished the book thinking, “I would LOVE to meet Joseph!  He is such an awesome dad!”

Of course, the book is a work of fiction, but Ms. Rice has certainly done her homework and has depicted life in the small town of Nazareth very well, with lots of accurate details of history and culture.

The second book… all I can say is: WOW.

Ms. Rice did an EXCELLENT job of depicting Jesus as a young man.  The reader is afforded the opportunity to see what it might have been like, for Jesus to deal with everyday stress and struggles, all the while knowing there is something different about him, something that sets him apart from everyone else.  And yet, in portraying him as human, Jesus’ divinity is not diminished at all.  Reading this book gave me a much clearer picture of how Jesus really can understand all the frustrations that we go through with family, with relationships, with internal struggles.

And the depiction of His temptation after being baptized by John is riveting.

Once again, this is a work of fiction, but after reading this book, I felt closer to the Lord.  I could see in lots of ways that He really can relate to what I deal with in everyday life.  Through the situations Jesus faced in the book, I felt in a much deeper fashion what the Bible says, “Surely He has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows…”  I sensed with a new clarity that Jesus really does understand when I am broken-hearted.

And I don’t want to tell you HOW I got that from the book, because it would be a spoiler!  So you’ll just have to read it for yourself.  *grins*

Christ the Lord series, by Anne Rice.  READ THEM!

Leave a Reply

Categories

