Posted by: Michelle Knoll | August 27, 2010

Finding a Place, Having a Place, Being… In Place

In the past two days, I’ve watched three different animated shows that had to do with someone losing, finding, or being in their “place.”

What do I mean by “place”?

That place of belonging, that place where you know you fit, that place where… when you’re there, the world just seems… right.

Two of these animated shows were SpongeBob cartoons. And no, I’m not a fan of SpongeBob.  However, my younger son is.  (and truth be told, so is my older son, and my husband as well.  But I’ll never let them know that I told you that…)

The other was The Lion King.  I don’t know HOW many times I’ve watched that movie, but while watching it last night, I suddenly saw… it’s all about Simba finding his place.

Yes, I can be a little slow at times…  🙂

Every one of us… has a place.  A place where we “fit.”  A place where we belong, and when we’re there… the world is a little brighter, a little happier, a little more alive for us.

Things can happen to deny us our place.  Things can happen to frustrate our place, or try to convince us that we really don’t have a place.  But the real truth is, we all have our own individual, unique place of belonging in this world, and we will never be totally ourselves, until we are in our own places.

At other times, we think we’re in the right place, and then find out later that it really wasn’t the right place after all.  We either think this because we were told by authorities in our lives that it was the right place, or circumstances gave us the indication that it was the right place.  Maybe even small successes in this place convinced us, “this is your place.”  But the successes were temporary, and now we know… this really isn’t where we belong.

Everyone has a place of belonging, and of course you know that I’m not talking about a physical “place.”  But you know it, when you are living and breathing and moving and operating… in that place.

How do you find your place in this world?  Well, you can’t do it alone.  I’ve found that out.  Life was never meant to be lived alone.  I don’t mean you have to be married, but you have to be connected to others, and seek out the wisdom and counsel of others, to really find your place.

And you have to be connected to God, because He’s the One that created your place.

“For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”  ~ Ephesians 2:10

That’s right.  You were created — created — to do good works, which were prepared ahead of time, in advance, just… for… you.

And you’re the only one that can do the good works that were prepared for you to do.

And I’m the only one that can do the good works that were prepared for me to do.

So I’m going to find my place, the place that was made just for me, in this world.  The place that holds those good works that were planned just for me to do.

How about you?

Leave a Reply

Categories

