Posted by: Michelle Knoll | September 10, 2010

Recovering from Sabotage

In my last post, I asked a question: can you sabotage your own place in life, or your own destiny?  I got a lot of responses from that question, most of them on Facebook.  The responses were great, and I appreciate the feedback I received.  One particular comment reminded me of something I meant to discuss concerning sabotage, so I’d like to address that now.

The comment was, “Thank God for family and friends who have come beside me to help me get through it all.”

Simply said, you can’t recover by yourself.

Some people would disagree.  But let me ask you a question:  who has ever been off course, that got completely back on course, without the help of a map, a guidebook, or another person?  How would you know you were off course, if it weren’t for sources of information external to your own thinking?

You simply cannot do it on your own.  It’s just not possible.

And some would say, “well, just give me a map and I’ll be fine!”  You might be.  But then again, you might read the map incorrectly.  And then what?

You need people in your life to help you along your journey.  People who have wisdom and who can see more clearly than you can.  People who have “been around the block a time or two.”

You have to be real and open and honest, and say, “I’m not sure I’m headed in the correct direction.  What do you see?”  And then you must prayerfully — I said prayerfully — take the thoughts these people give you, and consider them, comparing them against God’s Word, and against what you think.

I said, “be real and open and honest.”  Too many times, we get off track because we are just so sure we know what we’re doing!  Our confidence gets in the way of our growth and development.  If we were more real about where we were at, more willing to admit that we might not know what we’re doing, we might be able to “stay the course” more easily.

We were meant to be part of a community, attached to others, and allowing others to be a contributing part of our lives.  Granted, some people can’t help us along our way, either because they’re not as far along as we are, or they are in the midst of their own battle so deeply, their focus is only on themselves at the moment. That’s okay.  We’re not supposed to gather wisdom from everyone, just from those that can truly help us.  And we seek guidance and wisdom from many different people, so we can get a balanced perspective.

If you sabotage your own place, your own path, you can recover.  But it’s going to take more than just your own strength and your own viewpoint, to make that recovery happen.  It’s going to take seeking out others, being honest with them about what you see, and being open to what they see.

It’s also going to take realizing that God is intensely concerned about you, and He has a plan for you.  Yes, a plan.  He has a map for you to follow, which is contained in His Word, the Bible.  Plus, He has provided help along the way, in the form of His Holy Spirit.  And then He tops it all off, by placing you in a community of family and/or friends.

Well, I’ve given my thoughts on this, but I’m curious to hear what you all think.  Can you recover completely when you’ve sabotaged your place or destiny?  If not, why not?  If so, is it easy to do, or hard to do, or what?

Responses

  1. Ok, so I read the full article and gotta say “love it!”
    as for “recovering” from sabotage… I don’t think we “recover” to the same place. I think that through HARD work (ie prayer, faith, grace); friends and family who love us through our b…ad attitudes, broken hearts, angry outbursts; and family that HAVE TO love us… we get to a new point of life… a point beyond sabotage, but not necessarily the same point we were at earlier.
    (Does that make sense?)

    • Yes, that does make sense! I see that as… resurrection. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting, Nise!


Leave a Reply

Categories

