Posted by: Michelle Knoll | September 14, 2010

Ways to Find Your Place — People That Can Help

I’ve been writing a lot about “finding my place” recently because it’s so important.  I want to take a break from my own heart’s journey, and share with you all some of the things I’ve discovered, in the hopes it might help you in finding your place.

First of all, if you haven’t heard of Dan Miller, then you need to take a look at his site:  48Days.  Not only does he have great articles on creating a life you love, but he also has one of the best Personality Profiles I’ve used yet.  It’s called the DISC Profile, and it will show you the strengths and the weaknesses of your personality in ways that will help you better relate to others.  Not only that, but there’s an option to include a Spiritual Gifts Profile as well, which is cool!

If it sounds like I’m pushing that you try this personality profile, well… I am.  It’s the best money you’ll spend for your future in this world.

The next person I want to introduce you to is Kevin Miller.  He’s the author of the Free Agent Underground, a blog about living life as a free agent (what some people call being self-employed).  His belief is that each of us has a calling and a purpose in life, and that we should be actively pursuing that calling.  But more than that, Kevin believes that true success lies in community and accountability, and he reasons that most people aren’t successful in self-employment because they don’t have those two things operating in their lives.

You can check out his blog here: Free Agent Underground

and you can check out the foundational beliefs for the Free Agent Academy here:  The FAA Doctrine

I also want to brag on the Free Agent Academy a little bit.  I’ve been a member of FAA for about three months now, and it’s been the best three months I’ve had in a LONG time.  The people involved are all in the pursuit of creating life that they can be passionate about, and the encouragement you receive from all the members is amazing.  If you are considering becoming self-employed, or if you’ve ever thought about what it would be like to be your own boss, then you really need to check out this group.  Yes, it costs some money, but it’s well worth it.

Alright, by becoming a member of the Free Agent Academy, I was introduced to some other really great people.  One of those is Gary Barkalow.  He’s the founder of The Noble Heart ministry.

Gary Barkalow hosted a class for the Free Agent Academy called, “The Glory of Your Life.”  I believe these class sessions were taken from men’s retreats he has hosted on purpose and calling.

I have to admit, while I was listening to the recorded sessions, I kept thinking, “Oh, how I wish you would create these types of retreats for women too!”  The quality of his teaching is unsurpassed, and the depth of what I learned is almost too much for words.  Let’s just say, God spoke to me in every class session, and taught me some powerful things about myself and my past, and put together some pieces that I didn’t know were connected.

I believe in the saying, “know thyself.”  And I was so blessed to participate in Gary’s class, because now I know my heart much better than I ever did before.

He’s written a book on this topic, and you need to check it out.  Yes, you do.

But wait! There’s more!

As part of my membership in the Free Agent Academy, I took part in a class called “Discovering Your Best Focus” which is all about discovering your core passions.  The class was led by Deb Ingino, who is founder of My Wired Style.

Oh my gosh!  Deb is an excellent teacher, and the things I learned from her in this class… well, I will be contemplating all she said for some time now.  Deb is wonderful at taking all the bits and pieces of a person’s personality, abilities and past successes, and putting them together into one beautiful picture.  She was able to help me see themes in my life that I had not seen before.  I had a basic idea of who I was before her class, but I have a much better picture now.

And how can you be the person you’re supposed to be, for God, in this world, if you don’t really know who you are or what you’re about?

There are others in the Free Agent Academy that I’ve only met, and talked to just a little, but they’re awesome people.  As I get to know them better, I will post links to their own websites as well.

But for now, only one other that I want to mention (and yes, I’m saving the best for last!):

The Free Agent Mommy!  This is a blog written by Teri Miller, and it has touched my heart so much!  So I had to share it with you all.  🙂

Teri’s blog is full of amazing stories and thoughts from her heart, centered around the Lord and how she deals with 7 kids (yes, 7!) and her husband’s pursuit of free agency (self employment).  But I just love her blog.  Her most recent post about watching two hawks soar upward in the sky, and how God spoke to her through that…. wow.  Just awesome.  You really need to check this blog out!  Trust me, you will be blessed!

Okay.  Enough for now.  I’ll be back some time next week, with more about finding your place.  But for now, check out some of these other people and what they have to say.  I’m just so thankful that GOd caused my path to cross with theirs.

Have a blessed week!

Leave a Reply

Categories

