Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 14, 2010

Little Moth, Big Reminder

I was driving on the interstate the other day, and a flicker of movement caught my eye.  I glanced down at the windshield wiper in front of me, only to see a moth crouched down behind the blade.

I know what you’re thinking:  Now, Nonnie, was he really crouched down?  I have no idea, and I didn’t stop the car to find out.  But he looked like he was crouched down.  His little legs were bent.  (Yes, believe it or not, in a split-second glance, I could see that his legs were bent.)

Suddenly, a blast of wind caught one wing, and pulled it up higher than the other wing. I thought surely this little insect was going to be swept away by the blast of air flowing across the windshield.  Amazingly, though, the moth continued to hang on for dear life.

I kept doing split-second glances down at the moth, while concentrating on the road, and I was amazed the little creature hung on so tightly.  Occasionally, it would slip a little, only to push with all its might, back to its hiding place behind the windshield wiper.  Then, it would crouch down again to escape the brunt of the powerful wind.

What a battle!

And then after a couple of miles, it just couldn’t hang on any longer, and it was swept away by the wind.

I felt sad.

Life… isn’t easy.  A lot of times I feel like that little moth.  Problems and situations  batter me like raging winds.  I deal with each as best I can, but most of the time I feel as if I’m just barely hanging on.

But… when I can’t hang on any longer, there is One who hangs on to me. As a matter of fact, He’s always hanging on to me.  Always. Even when I don’t feel His loving embrace.  Even when the problems of this world cloud my mind, and bring rain into my heart.

I will never leave you, nor forsake you…

Thank You, Father God, for never letting go of me, for having a grip stronger than mine.  When my strength fails, help me remember Your Strength is sufficient.  In the dark hours of the night, when I can’t see the way home, be my Shepherd and my Guide.  When my heart becomes overwhelmed, help me to lie down in Your green pastures of blessing and abundance.

And thank You, for family and friends You bring alongside, to shelter me with their love and prayers.  To know they are there, and to know they are praying, is more testimony of Your Love toward me.  It’s hard to receive, when I know I just don’t have anything within me to give back to them.  Kinda makes me feel guilty.  So I ask You to pour into them Your abundance, for all the many ways they have poured into me.

In Jesus’ Name, Amen.


Responses

  1. That is so good!! Such a great reminder to all of us too that our Heavenly Father is always with us…in good times and bad. Sometimes we just have to let go and while it may seem we are being swept away, our Father’s hands are open to receive us. Thanks for sharing this!!!

    • Thanks, Cindy. Trust me when I say that right now it’s not easy to remember that His arms are around me, and He is holding me close. This particular “valley” has been quite shadowy. So it’s been wonderful to have you and so many others holding me up in prayer.


Leave a Reply

Categories

