Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 19, 2011

Is Sitting Really Just A “Waste of Time”?

I have a favorite place.

And when I talk about it, people say my eyes light up, and my tone of voice changes.  It’s easy to see that I love this place.

Remember the old song by Otis Redding, “Sitting on the Dock of the Bay”?

“I’m Sitting on the Dock of the Bay

Watching the tide roll away.

Ooo, I’m just sitting on the dock of the bay

Wasting time.”

Well, is sitting really just a waste of time?

I know what you’re thinking.  Well, it depends!

But in this world today, I challenge you to consider:  have we developed a mindset that says all sitting is wrong?  That all sitting is just a waste of time?

Sitting on this dock, with nothing to do but look at the beauty around me, I am reminded to be still, to just sit, and… think.

Yes, but I have so much to do.

No, sit and think.

Yes, but the world is demanding my attention!

No, sit and think.

But in the world today, split-second decisions get rewarded!  Time waits for no man!  The situation is here now!  It’s all happening now!  I must act now!

No.  Sit. And Think.  Or just Sit.

Be still… and know that I am GOD.

I love this place.  Because on this dock, I can push the world away.  I can get alone with my thoughts.  I can listen to the birds in the trees – the birds God is mindful of, whose feathers are counted one by one by one – and I can gaze into the heavens, and watch the clouds go by, if there are clouds that day.

And I can see this

and this

and in the evening, I can see thisand this.

And in the early morning, I can see this

And I can hear the voice of God calling to me, saying, Come closer.

She had a sister called Mary, who was seated at the Lord’s feet, listening to His word.  But Martha was distracted in her preparations… . But the Lord answered and said to her, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things; but only one thing is necessary… .”

Leave a Reply

Categories

