Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 21, 2011

Beyond My Limited Vision

I haven’t participated in Five Minute Friday in a long time.

It’s a fun thing to do, to write for five minutes without worrying if it’s spelled write or wroded just right…. see there?  Just made a mistake, and I’m not going back to correct it, even if it’s not part of the five minutes of writing for Five Minute Friday.

The topic for today is “Beyond.”  So here’s my take on the topic (I almost typed “carpet.”  Where did that come from!?)

GO.

I stand on the beach, and look out at the blue sky above, and the blue ocean beneath, and my gaze fizes on where they meet.

Beyond what I can see, there are other worlds.

Beyond what I can see, there are other peoples.

Beyond what I can see, there are good things, and bad things, happy things and sad things, fun things and dangerous things, all happening in worlds beyond, all happening to peoples beyond.

And it makes me think of how I can’t see my future, just like I can’t see what lies beyond that horizon.

But I know One who can see all those things, beyond my limited vision.

He knows what will happen next week, tomorrow, in the next hour, during my next breath.

He knows all, and He sees all, and He watches over all.

“Take no thought for tomorrow, for tomorrow has issues of its own.” (my paraphrase)  “Sufficient to the day is the trouble thereof.”

When I am more concerned about what lies beyond my limited vision, I miss what is all around me.

So I take my eyes off the horizon, though it’s fun to think of what exists way out there, and I turn to look at what is ever present around me: the sand, the surf, the shells, the seaweed, the sandpipers running from the water while they hunt for food, the seagulls overhead, the pelicans resting on the waters surface.

If we would stop focusing so much on what lies beyond, we would find there is so much beauty within our present situation.

STOP.

So that’s my take on “Beyond.”  If you would like to join in the fun, visit The Gypsy Mama.  And read the rest of her posts, too.  She’s written some excellent thoughts.

Responses

  1. I only look BEYOND THE FARTHEST STAR!!

    Sorry, but you knew I couldn’t resist!! 🙂

    • Ha ha! Cindy, you are priceless. Keep on promoting that movie! Blessings to you!

  2. Oh how taxing to be a part of the human race. So limited in all ways. Only are we free in our spirits by the grace of God to enjoy the now and not worry about tomorrow. What a great post. God bless, Dr. Bobbi

    • Thanks, Dr. Bobbi! I appreciate you reading and commenting. Yes, so true: God’s Grace is the only thing that helps us not worry. May we rely on it more and more.

  3. So comforting that we know the One who can see beyond.


Leave a Reply

Categories

