Posted by: Michelle Knoll | May 31, 2012

Wait. Who Said That!?

I was going to make my next post about college financial aid, but that will have to wait until later.  However, in my hunt to find a witty comment about “aid” which I could use in my post concerning college financial matters, I stumbled upon a quote that I thought was from one of our country’s great statesmen.

Have you ever heard, “Now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of their country”?  Of course you have!  Everyone has heard that statement.  And I always thought it was spoken by Patrick Henry, or… Thomas Paine, or… John Adams.

I mean, after all, John A. came up with some really great one-liners, you know?  For instance, the statement he made in a letter to his wife:

“I have accepted a seat in the [Massachusetts] House of Representatives, and thereby have consented to my own ruin, to your ruin, and the ruin of our children. I give you this warning, that you may prepare your mind for your fate.” 

What a hoot!  “To my own ruin.”  (I wonder how many politicians these days consider political appointments to be to their own ruin.  Probably none.  But maybe they should.  But I digress.)

So I went hunting for who made this famous statement and found, much to my surprise, it wasn’t said by a famous statesmen at all!  It wasn’t even said by a politician.

Hey, America!  Are you ready?  The man who called upon all men to “come to the aid of their country” was none other than Charles E. Weller.  A schoolteacher!  And he created the sentence as a typing exercise!  And actually, the original statement was just a wee bit different.  It read like this:

“Now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of the party.”

Can you imagine?  This famous quote was created simply for typing homework.  Wow. 

Thanks to the work of Cecil Adams, I now know where one of my favorite quotes came from!  But now I have another question:

Just what party was Mr. Weller referring to, and just how many people were invited?

🙂

Happy Thursday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

