Posted by: Michelle Knoll | June 14, 2012

The Word for the Week

I used a word in my last blog post that just sounds funny to me.

“Plethora.”

I know, I know, it doesn’t sound funny to you.  But it sounds funny to me.  It almost sounds like someone speaking with a lisp.

And it almost sounds like the name of some funky dinosaur.

“We see, from the bones we have uncovered, a herd of plethora traveled through here.”

Or some odd food.

“Ah, yes, I’d like some grilled plethora to go, please.”

“Yes, ma’am!  Would you like fries with that?”  🙂

Or even, you know, the wild undergrowth in a dense forest.

“It’s hard to find tracks of wild animals through this part of the forest, due to the dense plethora.”

Yes, my brain does weird things from time to time.

But what does it actually mean?

Plethora: a superabundance; an excess.

So what word do you think sounds funny?  Please post all you can think of, and the weird and interesting definitions that come to mind when you hear the words.

Leave a Reply

Categories

