Posted by: Michelle Knoll | June 28, 2012

The Word for the Week of June 28

The word this week?

“Protuberant.”

Now, you may already know this one.  I didn’t.  But it makes me think of my mom.

See, my mom used to plant tuberous begonias, and when I read this word, I get one image in my mind:  plants that are pros at having big roots.  Really big roots.  I mean HUGE roots.  Gnarly things.  You know?

Or…

This word could mean someone (or something) that is good at making tuba sounds.

Now, now, I said “tuba” sounds.  Not sounds of some other nature that are deep and resounding, and… you get what I’m saying, I know you do.  🙂

Or…

It could be a really strong container for toothpaste, perhaps.

“That tube of toothpaste is SO hard to deal with!  It is so protuberant!”

Or perhaps Christmas wrapping paper on a really bit cardboard tube?

“I can’t carry that!  It’s so protuberant!”

Yeah.  That last one might be a little bit of a stretch.

So what does it mean, actually? Well, I’m glad you asked!

“Swelling outward; bulging.”

All right, all you funny guys.  Now that you know the correct meaning, don’t go making bad jokes about how someone’s belly sticks out, okay?

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

Categories

