Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 4, 2012

Thirty-One Days of Hearing His Voice {Day 4} – Through a Computer

“Ouch.” I muttered to myself, as I paused the recording.  The words I had just transcribed struck deep in my soul.

“Being used in the gifts is not a sign of spirituality.  Being spiritual has to do with walking in love…. how you control your temper…. how you study the Word…. how well you obey the Word.”  

Even though it was my pastor’s voice on the recording, God was speaking, loud and clear.  “Being spiritual has to do with how you react to that motorist on the interstate.  Being spiritual has to do with what you say when your son is not in a good mood and doesn’t want to do his schoolwork.  Being spiritual has to do with how you put Me first every day and don’t run to check your email before you read the day’s devotion.”

Ouch.  Big ouch.  Big double ouch!  God caught me right where I was living, pointed His finger right at my heart, and He wasn’t going to let it go without some discussion.

“Do you think I’m more interested in how well you can sing in front of a church filled with people, or in how much you whisper in your prayers that you love Me?”

“Do you think I’m more interested in how many projects you can work on, or how many people you pray for in your quiet times?”

“Which serves Me better, the number of words you share in encouragement with your friends, or the number of verses you actually obey from your heart?”

In two minutes of transcription work, and the few minutes of meditation afterward, God had reduced me.  Taken me down more than a couple of notches.

He pointed His finger at my heart again.  “What really matters to you?”  His question echoed through my whole being.

“Serving You!  Of course!  Always!”

Serving Me?”

I knew where He was going with this.

“What about…. being with Me?”

I had no words for a response.

You’ve been in that place, I’m sure, where someone brings up an argument for which you have no rebuttal.  And so it was with me at that point.  He did not need to say anything else.  His words shot straight as an arrow, landing on the bulls-eye of my heart.  He nailed me.

“I called you a woman of grace and beauty, but you can’t be that if you don’t put Me first.  If you don’t want to break My heart, if you don’t want My heart to ache from  loneliness, you’ll come to Me in the morning before you check Facebook, or email, or your phone for messages.  You’ll make Me more important than anyone else.”

I thought about it all night.

And this morning, My journal and Bible were the first things I sought out, as soon as I was awake.  And even though my son got up early and my time with the Lord was cut short, it was still a very good start to the day.

“O Lord, you have searched me and known me. You know when I sit down and rise.  You understand my thoughts from afar, and my path You scrutinize.  You are closely — closely! — acquainted with all of my ways.”

“May the words of my mouth and the thoughts of my heart, be acceptable to You, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.”

And you know?  While reading His Word this morning, and writing in my journal, I truly believe I felt Him smile.

Does God smile?  I think so.  What do you think?  Let’s talk about smiles tomorrow.  🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

