Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 8, 2012

Thirty-One Days of Hearing His Voice {Day 8} – Secrets From His Word

There are times when a nugget as pure as gold jumps off the page during my quiet time.

This morning I purposed not to miss my fellowship with the Lord.  (And I purposed in my heart that I would not be late at posting this day’s blog!)  And I was blessed with something really neat.  Want to know what it was?  Well, then, read on, my friend!

I was reading in Isaiah, chapters 17 and 63.  They’re both good chapters about how the Lord will defend His people.  I like reading about how the Lord defends His people, don’t you?  He is so cool.

Well, take a look at verse 11 of chapter 63:

“Then His people remembered the days of old, of Moses.  Where is He who brought them up our of the sea with the shepherds of His flock?  Where is He who put His Holy Spirit in the midst of them,”

And I suddenly stopped.  His Holy Spirit?  I went back and read it again.  Yep.  It said “His Holy Spirit.”  Hmm.  I had heard people say many times that there isn’t that much about God’s Holy Spirit in the Old Testament.  To be quite honest, I hadn’t performed a word search on that particular topic yet.  But this just stood out to me this morning, as if it were announcing itself with trumpets and fanfare.  “Take a look at this!” it seemed to say.

There was a reference to Haggai 2:5, so I turned to that verse to see what it had to say.

“As for the promise which I made you when you came out of Egypt, My Spirit is abiding in your midst; do not fear!”

There it was again!  His Holy Spirit was abiding in their midst, in the midst of the camp of the Israelites, as they traveled from Egypt.  Well, this got me on a “seek and ye shall find” hunt for more verses, so I spent the next half hour looking at reference after reference.

Do you remember what was in the midst of the camp?  The tabernacle of the Lord.  And what was present at the tabernacle of the Lord?  His Presence.

34 Then the cloud covered the tent of meeting, and the glory of the Lord filled the tabernacle. 35 Moses could not enter the tent of meeting because the cloud had settled on it, and the glory of the Lord filled the tabernacle.

36 In all the travels of the Israelites, whenever the cloud lifted from above the tabernacle, they would set out; 37 but if the cloud did not lift, they did not set out—until the day it lifted. 38 So the cloud of the Lord was over the tabernacle by day, and fire was in the cloud by night, in the sight of all the Israelites during all their travels.”  (Exodus 40, NIV version)

So, the fire by night was the Presence of the Lord.  And it was in their midst, with the tabernacle.  It was the physical representation of God’s Holy Spirit, in their midst.

Well, where else in the Bible do we see fire associated with God’s Holy Spirit?  I bet you know!

They saw what seemed to be tongues of fire that separated and came to rest on each of them.”  (Acts 2:3, NIV)

Isn’t that cool!  Here we see the Holy Spirit being represented by fire once again.

But isn’t it neat that there is evidence of God’s Holy Spirit in the Old Testament as well?  So, God’s Holy Spirit wasn’t something new that just showed up on the Day of Pentecost.  No, He had been around the whole time.  The only difference is, He now dwells within God’s people, not just among us.

Leave a Reply

Categories

