Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 17, 2012

Thirty-One Days of Hearing His Voice {Day 17} – Turning It Around

One day during my quiet time, I read Psalm 28.  Here it is, in case you haven’t ever read it before, or you have but you don’t remember it.

1 To you, Lord, I call; you are my Rock, do not turn a deaf ear to me.  For if you remain silent, I will be like those who go down to the pit.

2 Hear my cry for mercy as I call to you for help, as I lift up my hands toward your Most Holy Place.

3 Do not drag me away with the wicked, with those who do evil, who speak cordially with their neighbors but harbor malice in their hearts.

4 Repay them for their deeds and for their evil work; repay them for what their hands have done and bring back on them what they deserve.

5 Because they have no regard for the deeds of the Lord and what his hands have done, he will tear them down and never build them up again.

6 Praise be to the Lord, for he has heard my cry for mercy.

7 The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me.  My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.

8 The Lord is the strength of his people, a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.

9 Save your people and bless your inheritance; be their shepherd and carry them forever.

Then, as I was thinking about all it said, I sensed the Lord say, “Here, let Me read it to you.”  And as I listened with my heart, this is what I heard:

“Call to Me.  I am you Rock.  I will not turn a deaf ear to you.  I will not remain silent!  And you will not go down to the pit.

I will hear your cry for mercy as you call to Me for help, as you lift up your hands toward My Most Holy Place.

I will not drag you away with the wicked, with those who do evil, who speak cordially with their neighbors but harbor malice in their hearts.

I will repay them for their deeds and for their evil work; I will repay them for what their hands have done and bring back on them what they deserve.

Because they have no regard for My deeds and what My hands have done, I will tear them down and never build them up again.

Give Praise to Me!  For I, the Lord, have heard your cry for mercy!

I am your strength and your shield; let your heart trust in Me, for I help you.  Let your heart leap for joy, and praise Me with your song!

I, the Lord, am the strength of My people, a fortress of salvation for My anointed ones.

I will save My people and bless My inheritance; I will be their shepherd and carry them forever.

It was the most beautiful moment, and I cried.  His Voice was warm and I could sense the love in His heart toward me.  And from that point on, I’ve turned passages from the Psalms around, and read them as if He’s reading them to me.

Oh, how great is His Love toward us!  How magnificent is His mercy!  How awesome is the Lord Most High!

Leave a Reply

Categories

