Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 18, 2012

Thirty-One Days of Hearing His Voice {Day 18} – Parting the Waters of My Sea

There are times when life gets hard, you know?  And sometimes in my mind, things can seem too hard.

I wonder if Moses felt that way as he faced the Red Sea, knowing the Egyptians were coming.  We get an idea that he was pretty uptight about it, because of a comment made in the middle of the story.  “And the Lord said unto Moses, Wherefore criest thou unto me? speak unto the children of Israel, that they go forward:” (Exodus 14:15)  This was after (not before) Moses told the children of Israel that God would take care of the situation.

Isn’t that how we humans deal with things?  Someone starts wailing over how awful our situation is, and because we are believers in Jesus, we put up a front.  “Oh, stop worrying!  God will take care of you!  It’s going to be okay, really it is!”  And then, once we’re alone, we come apart, right?  “God, I can’t see you in this!  Where are you!  Why are you letting this happen?”  And God looks down at us and says, “Why are you crying out to Me?”

It’s almost like I can hear Him saying, “You believe in Me all the time, talk to Me all the time, sing to Me and worship Me all the time.  And then your life, your situation,  gets rough, and all of a sudden, you act like I’ve gone on vacation!  Why are you crying out to Me?  Wasn’t I here, just yesterday, when you weren’t feeling so overwhelmed?  Would I have left without letting you know?  Would I have left at all?  What’s up with this, hmm?  Why are you crying out to Me?”

“But yesterday it wasn’t bad, Lord! Today, it’s BAD!”

“Okay, but did I change?”

“Well, no.”

“So just because the situation changed, you think you must panic?”

“No!”

“You just want things to be easy all the time?”

“Is that so wrong, Lord?”

“Well, if things are easy all the time, would you get to see Me fight for you?  Would you get to see My Glory?  Would you get to see just how much I watch over you and care for you, all the time?  Would it mean as much to you?  Would I mean as much to you?”

And suddenly, the air hangs with quiet between us.  I know how to answer, but I’m not sure I want to admit it.  Finally, I do answer.  The Lord already knows the answer, but He’s waiting on me to say it.

“No, I don’t suppose You would mean as much to me, if things were easy all the time.”

He speaks more softly this time.

“You wouldn’t rely on Me, if things were easy all the time.  You’d wander off, and forget Me.  You know?”

That hurts.  And yet, in my heart of hearts, I know He’s speaking truth.  It’s the age-old problem of humanity.  The Israelites were famous for getting through something really hard, and getting to a place of ease, and then forgetting God had helped them achieve that place of ease.  And Christians have done it, too.  All humans do it.  Once we get to a place of ease, a place of abundance, a place of peace, we settle back and relax.  We don’t want battles, or struggles, or situations that call for God to help us.  We want soft, downy cushions to sleep on, beautiful blue skies over our heads with white puffy clouds, our favorites sweet snacks to feast on (without gaining any weight, I might add), and smiles and laughter all day long.

But life isn’t all sweet snacks without weight gain, amen?

I have an old friend who’s in Heaven now, but while he was here on earth, he was famous for saying, “Life isn’t so bad, and even when it’s bad, it’s really not that bad.”  Still, when life gets to the point that I feel it’s just too much, I must remember that God has never left me, He has never let me down, and He never will.  Even in the moments when I cry out to Him, wailing that “it’s just too much!” He is still there, eager and ready and waiting to answer me when I call, move mightily to save me, and deliver me out of whatever situation I am facing.

He is the One who parts my red sea.  All the time.  He has never left me stuck between the sea and my enemies.  And He never will.

Responses

  1. Good work, and good words, Michelle. I like the Red Sea metaphor and lesson. I think the only thing I would add is — what do we do when God is silent? Or when the sea DOESN’T part? What then?

    We must always be careful to walk the fine line between “God loves you, always and in all ways” and “therefore, everything will always work out.” The same Bible contains both Exodus and Job.

    Thanks for sharing. I like your style and your voice. Let’s keep doing this, shall we? 🙂

    • Good point, Bruce. I actually touched on God’s silence just a little bit here:
      https://anmouse.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/thirty-one-days-of-hearing-his-voice-day-16-when-hearing-is-hard/
      Oh I agree, there is Exodus and then there is Job. But then there is also Romans 8:28. 🙂 I can’t say I always know how God makes it work out for good, and sometimes His “good” doesn’t look all that great at first. His ways can be very mysterious. And we could talk about that for days, amen? 🙂
      Thanks for liking my style and voice! You are a big encouragement to me. Let me know when you get your next blog posted, okay?

  2. And of course, it took out my “grin” mark after the second graf, because it thought it was some sort of weird HTML tag. So, imagine such a mark after Job.

    • Ah, the ways of WordPress can be just as mysterious as Facebook and Microsoft, yes? I won’t say it’s the same as God’s mysteriousness, because His mysteriousness actually makes sense, and computer app mysteries usually don’t.

      And yes, I realize I said “mysteriousness makes sense.” 🙂

  3. I must have been whining louder than I thought yesterday, because you sure captured my thoughts. As usual, your writing gets straight to the heart of the matter and leaves me with something to examine within myself. I always love what you write!!

    • Thanks, Cindy! Well, I write where I live, so if this hit that close to home, you and I must be in the same campground. 🙂 Come on over to the campsite, and you and I can cook marshmallows over the campfire!


Leave a Reply

Categories

