Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 21, 2012

Thirty-One Days of Hearing His Voice {Day 21} – Waiting Before Speaking

For those of you who liked yesterday’s post, thank you.  I was away all day, enjoying the great outdoors, and got back late, so my post didn’t even get registered for the 20th.  That’s why it was so short!  I was trying to beat the midnight deadline.

And today I was going to go back to what we were talking about two days ago, about the reasons why the sea might not be parting, but I want to wait on that.  Because, to me it’s more important to say the correct thing, than to just say anything in order to get a blog post written.  When it’s as serious a topic as God possibly not showing up the way we want Him to, or need Him to, the topic needs to be handled carefully, with a lot of prayer and also scriptural foundation.

Yes, this is my blog, and I write about all sorts of things, and share my opinion a lot.  But when it comes to things that concern God and His ways, well, I tread slowly and cautiously.  And to be honest, I sensed in my spirit that what I had planned to say today really needs more thought.  In other words, I need to wait before I speak.

If we were all honest, we would all admit – me included – that we’ve been in situations where we said something before thinking it through.  And what we said really didn’t help matters.  Sometimes, it even made things worse, and if we’d taken the time to wait before speaking, we could have avoided unnecessary trouble.

I know I don’t always have the answers.  Usually, if I’m aware someone needs help, the reason I want to say something is because I want to help that person out of their situation.  But sometimes I would be more help by gathering my thoughts and making sure they were clear before I attempted to share.

Have you ever been in a situation where you really wanted to address what was going on, but there was something inside of you that said “hold back”?  And what did you do?  Did you hold back?  Or did you plow on ahead and say what you wanted to?

See, I think the human tendency is to help, even when we’re not sure exactly how to help.  And offering answers, offering advice, offering “wisdom” is one way we believe we can help.  We see “speaking forth” as “easy help,” meaning we can come up with “advice” a whole lot faster than we can come up with $50!  (or maybe for you, it’s more like $500)

There’s a verse in Proverbs that relates to this topic rather well:

“Even a fool, when he holdeth his peace, is counted wise: and he that shutteth his lips is esteemed a man of understanding.” — Proverbs 17:28

The point is, not everything needs to be said now.  Sometimes, the better thing to do, the wise things to do, is wait.  Wait until you know your words will ring true, until you know your advice is sound, until you’re sure what you’re sharing agrees with Scripture.

So I’m waiting.  And praying.  And reading God’s Word.  Because He knows how come seas don’t part, a lot better than I do.

Responses

  1. Always good advice to wait before speaking. 🙂

    God chided Job’s friends for speaking as if they understood God and God’s ways completely. “Where were you when I created the heavens?” I doubt they had much to say at that point.

    A possible book to help inform this discussion: “The Problem of Pain” by C.S. Lewis. And, if that is still too easy, one could also read “A Grief Observed” by the same author.

    I’m enjoying reading this series, Michelle. Keep ’em coming.

    • From what I remember, Bruce, God said pretty much the same thing to Job. But I haven’t read it recently, so I need to go back and confirm that.
      Thanks for the references to the books. I’ll have to check them out. I’ll add them in with the other resources I’m checking.


Leave a Reply

Categories

