Posted by: Michelle Knoll | October 23, 2012

Thirty-One Days of Hearing His Voice {Day 23} – While Grocery Shopping

First of all, let me say that even though I’ve been a wife and mother for 27-28 years, I really don’t enjoy grocery shopping. It’s not my cup of tea.  I don’t even like to shop for tea.

So my hat’s off to all those moms and wives who love to make grocery lists and clip coupons and “conquer the aisles.”  Go for it.  And I’ll cheer you on from… somewhere, though probably not from inside the store!

Oh, it’s not that bad, I don’t suppose, but I have better things to do, you know?  Like writing.  I love to write.  And I don’t love to shop.  (Yes, dear male readers, you read that correctly.  You’re staring at a blog written by a female who really doesn’t enjoy shopping all that much.  So get back up off the floor from where you fainted and continue to read!)

But the whole process of shopping.  Ugh.  I mean, really!  It’s like what Ecclesiastes says about the studying of books: “wearying to the flesh”!  Yet, if I don’t want my family eating the soles off their shoes, I must shop.  And so, I go.  Begrudgingly, to be sure, but I go.

I get a cart, and most of the time, the cart has one wheel that is the most rebellious contraption on the planet.  It either won’t spin like the others, or it’s maniacal and it wobbles and screeches every inch of the way.  OR… it bumps.  So I go down the aisle… thump…. thump…. thump…. thump…  thump.  I try to speed up, and then I hear thump, thump, thump, thump, thump!  Or I try to slow down, and it’s:

thump………. thump……….thump……….thump……….thump……….thump……….

UGH.  Seriously!  I could very easily be arrested for being the only female to take out the wheel on a grocery cart with a pistol.  If I owned a pistol, that is.

Well, after getting a cart, I begin my “search and conquer” mission, to find all the things on my list.  If I have a list, that is.  Yes, I’ve been one of those who’s attempted grocery shopping without a list.  See how I dislike it?  I won’t even play by the rules!

And then – THEN! – I look for something that’s supposed to be on sale, and at a really great price, and the spot on the shelf where this item is supposed to be is EMPTY.  Grr!  Why does everyone in my community show up at the store before me, and take the item that’s on sale, so I can’t have any?  So frustrating.

But the really bad part, the REALLY.  BAD.  PART.  is the bags.  Plastic bags.  This world has turned everything into cheap plastic, and grocery bags are the worst.  They are so thin nowadays, they can’t hold but one or two items.  I had three tear on me today, while I was pushing the cart to the car!  I hadn’t even picked them up yet, and they tore!  What is this world coming to?  Then, as I was lifting one bag from the cart into the car, it tore further and I almost had a disaster.  I almost baptized the parking lot with lemon juice and tomato sauce.

So what has all of this ranting have to do with hearing God’s Voice?

Well, I’m glad you asked.  🙂

Ranting really doesn’t have anything to do with hearing God’s Voice, but grocery shopping is a great opportunity for hearing His Voice.  (But I’m thankful that God also understands my ranting and my lack of enthusiasm for grocery shopping.)

When my life is thump-thump-bumpy, He calms my soul and reminds me He is the calmer of rough seas.   When a situation becomes screechingly irritating, He is the gentle hand on my shoulder, saying, “It’s going to be okay.  Don’t let it get to you,” so I won’t imagine myself as Rambo with machine gun in hand, ready to take out whatever is irritating me.  When people are behaving in a maniacal fashion, He helps me to see them as He sees them.  Sometimes, I don’t see them that way at first, and I pray He will help me get better at that.

When I don’t have a list, a plan, or a vision for my future, He reminds me that He orders my steps.  This is not to say He is okay with me being irresponsible, and I do have a part to play in planning for the future.  So when I shop without a list, I hear Him in my spirit saying, “You really didn’t prepare for this little adventure, did you?”  Yes, Lord, help me become better organized.  Please!

When there doesn’t seem to be enough for me, He reminds me that He is my sufficiency.  He is all-sufficient, and in Him I have everything I need.  So I can rest in the fact that there is no lack in a relationship with the Lord of Heaven and earth.

And when a bag stretches, and tears, and possibly breaks, He reminds me that He is strong enough to carry the weight of my troubles.  He is strong enough, and able to stretch to accommodate all my situations.  He is able!  I can trust Him to handle all of my life, all of my situations, all of my pressures, all of my cares.

God is pretty cool, you know?  Yeah, He is.

Leave a Reply

Categories

