Posted by: Michelle Knoll | June 24, 2016

Is It the Politics of Government, or the Government of Politics?

Rant Warning: the Rant Cafe is now open.

Please be advised that what follows is full of emotion, sarcasm, and possibly some things that aren’t the author’s real viewpoint, but are instead first impressions of what might be a truly disastrous issue. Consequently, this post may be edited multiple times after being posted.

Politics is some of the stupidest stuff on the planet.

I’ve been trying to follow our government’s actions following the Orlando shooting, and I’m just about done with it all.

Yes, I know about the sit-in. NO comment from me at this time.

Yes, I’ve read the news. NO comment from me at this time.

Yes, I know about the four votes, and what the media has said.  I’ll deal with the media later, possibly, in a separate post.  That post might not be rated G.  Just sayin’.

But let’s back up.  The four votes.  Or, more accurately, ONE of the four votes.

Does anyone else try to keep up with exactly who voted for what?  What I mean is, does anyone use the U.S. Senate Roll Call website to find out who voted which way, and what the vote was actually about? I tried that.

I’m still trying that.

I’m still reading.

I’m working through the details of one of the four votes, and it’s mind boggling just how detailed this mess really is. It’s not a web, it’s not even a backlash in a fishing reel.  It’s an overturned plate of spaghetti with meatballs, heavy on the sauce, into berber carpet.

It’s the rabbit hole in Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, where Alice follows the white rabbit and begins all her adventures into the crazy world on the other side.

Except, this time there’s two rabbits, and one is red while the other is blue.

And by choosing to go through this portal, this “hole,” like Alice, I have no idea where I’m going, what I’m going to face, and how I’m going to get, um,”home,” i.e., back out of the hole.

Oh yes, I could just close all the websites – yes, I said sites, not “site” – and just go about my merry way, like any other good American.  But you see, I want to KNOW what is going on with my Congress, and I want to KNOW how they are handling the important issues that affect my life.

So, I look.  And I read.  And continue reading.

I’m still reading.

Still.

Are you getting the picture? Is the sun of realization beginning to dawn on your world? I’ve been at this for days, and I’m STILL READING.

Our Congress doesn’t want this to be something we, the people, can make sense of! One link leads to another, which leads to another, which leads to yet another, which leads to Still Another, which leads to ANOTHER, which leads… ad infinitum, ad nauseam, ad larger-than-the-National-Mall-eum.

I, like most writers, do not like run-on sentences.  But what about run-on pages? Run-on websites? Run-on Business-As-Usual Congresses?  HMM?

Do they really think we think they think they’re making progress?

And this vote, or votes, on the gun control measures, that BOTH sides wanted to make progress on, but NEITHER side wanted to become agreeable on, so BOTH sides wanted to point fingers about, so NEITHER side could get a majority vote on, so NO ONE wins???

Groan.

The rabbit hole is very deep, you see, and the two rabbits, yes, two rabbits, want it to stay that way.  Because they don’t really want the American people, yes, we, the people, to know that in truth there really is nothing of value down the hole. The hole is where they live. Not where we live.  Where they live.  And there is a grand distinction between where we are, and where they are.

Oh, yes, the rabbit is not white.  And it is not one rabbit.  It’s two.  Red and blue.

So what do we have here?  The politics of government?  Or the government of politics?

Let’s just look at the definitions of those two words, shall we?

“Politics” – The activities or affairs engaged in by a government, politician, or political party. Or – The methods or tactics involved in managing a state or government.

“Government” – The act or process of governing, especially the control and administration of public policy in a political unit. Or – Administration or management of an organization, business, or institution.

So, which is it? Do we have the politics of government, which would be “the activities or affairs engaged in by the administration of an organization,” meaning, the actions of our senators and representatives. OR, do we have the government of politics, which would be “the act or process of governing – or the administration or management – of the activities or affairs engaged in,” meaning, the management of all their methods and tactics, activities, or… affairs?

(Yes, I realize what I just did there.)

One is clearly seen.  The other is not.  One can be monitored by the people, and one cannot be, because it’s being “monitored” – managed – by those involved in the activities, to keep the American people from knowing just how little gets accomplished by those that should be working for us. In the hole.

I fear it is the latter, the government of politics, that rules the day. It is what exists, down in the hole. It is what the two rabbits want, and neither rabbit wants to see it change.

*************

“But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked.
“Oh, you can’t help that,” said the Cat: “we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.”
“How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice.
“You must be,” said the Cat, “or you wouldn’t have come here.”

**************

“My dear, here we must run as fast as we can, just to stay in place. And if you wish to go anywhere you must run twice as fast as that.”

**************

The Rant Cafe is now closed.  You may go on about your business.

Leave a Reply

Categories

